The wonderful history of chocolate

THE OLMECS

The first people who were familiar with cacao were the Olmecs in Central America, over 3000 years ago. They discovered by chance that cocoa beans (which they also called “sun beans”) had a different taste when their pods didn't burst and they did not dry on the trunk but instead fell on the muddy floor, started to ferment in the humidity of the virgin forest and went rotten. However, the beans did not look particularly appetizing on the damp, muddy floor.

 

THE MAYAS

The chocolate consumed by the Mayas was very different from the kind we know today. It was mainly used as a drink and was a privilege reserved for kings and gods.

 

THE AZTECS

Chocolate had great value for the Aztecs. It was a luxury foodstuff for the nobles and other privileged groups. The Spanish very quickly became aware of the importance of cacao for the Mayas and the Aztecs. To start with they found the drink unpalatable and they mainly preferred it hot, like the Mayas. The Spanish started to sweeten the chocolate with cane sugar and substitute it with spices like pepper and cinnamon.

FROM MEXICO TO EUROPE

In 1544 Mayan monks and nobles took chocolate with them as they travelled to the Royal Court of Spain. When it was introduced to Europe, the French wars of religion were being waged. Chocolate became known in the French court following the marriage of the King of France to the daughter of the King of Spain, and the craze for it then swept across the continent.

HOW IS CHOCOLATE MADE?

Chocolate comes from the cacao tree, which favours warms climates and is mainly found in Africa and America. The Côte d'Ivoire is the world's largest cacao producer.

Chocolate production: Once the beans have been removed from the pod (the fruit of the cacao tree), they are dried and then roasted in large metal spheres: it is this process that releases the flavour of the chocolate. Next the beans are ground in a machine and cocoa butter is extracted. This leaves a fluid, bitter paste known as cocoa paste, to which various ingredients are added (for example milk and sugar) to give the desired taste...
And it is all mixed together.
 

There are three main types of chocolate:

 

Dark chocolate consists of at least 43% cocoa paste, to which sugar and cocoa butter are added.

 

Milk chocolate contains at least 35% cocoa paste, which is mixed with powdered milk and sugar.

 

White chocolate does not contain any cocoa paste, only cocoa butter (a fatty substance obtained by pressing the cacao after the beans have been ground), which is mixed with milk and sugar.

© 2017 Blondel-Confiseur Sàrl - CH-1003 Lausanne, All rights reserved | Developed by SOSWEB.CH | Designed by JP Dattner

Die wunderbare Geschichte der Schokolade

DIE OLMEKEN

Wohl die ersten Menschen, die den Kakao kannten, waren die Olmeken in Mittelamerika vor über 3000 Jahren. Durch Zufall entdeckten sie, dass die Sonnenbohnen – wie die Kakaobohnen auch genannt wurden – ganz anders schmeckten, wenn ihre Hülle nicht am Baumstamm platzte und vertrocknete, sondern auf den Moderboden fiel, in der feuchten Hitze des Urwaldes zu gären begann und dann verrottete. Allerdings sehen die Bohnen auf dem feuchten Moderboden nicht besonders appetitlich aus.

DIE MAYA

Die von den Maya konsumierte Schokolade unterscheidet sich sehr von der heute üblichen Form. Die Schokolade wurde hauptsächlich getrunken, wobei das Getränk Königen und Göttern vorbehalten war.

 

DIE AZTEKEN

Bei den Azteken hatte die Schokolade einen sehr hohen Stellenwert. Sie diente dem Adel und anderen privilegierten Gruppen als Genussmittel. Schon bald erkannten die Spanier die grosse Bedeutung des Kakaos für die Maya und Azteken. Zunächst fanden sie das Getränk eher abstossend und tranken es wie die Maya vor allem heiss. Die Spanier begannen, die Schokolade mit Rohrzucker zu süssen und ersetzten diesen dann mit Gewürzen wie Pfeffer und Zimt.

VON MEXIKO NACH EUROPA

Im Jahr 1544 brachten Mönche und adlige Maya die Schokolade auf ihrem Weg zum spanischen Königshof mit. Als die Schokolade Europa erreichte, herrschte die Zeit der Glaubenskriege. Die Schokolade wurde durch die Heirat des französischen Königs mit der Tochter des spanischen Königs an den Hof von Frankreich gebracht. Von dort aus eroberte sie den "alten“ Kontinent.

WIE WIRD SCHOKOLADE HERGESTELLT?

Ursprung der Schokolade sind die Kakaobohnen vom Kakaobaum, der in wärmeren Ländern, vor allem in Afrika und Amerika, wächst. Weltweit führender Kakaoproduzent ist die Elfenbeinküste.

Die Herstellung: Die Kakaobohnen werden vom Fruchtfleisch des Kakaobaums befreit, getrocknet und danach in grossen Metallbehältern geröstet. Durch das Rösten entfaltet der Kakao sein Aroma. Dann werden die Bohnen in einer Maschine zerkleinert (Mahlen), und daraus wird Kakaobutter gewonnen. Dieser flüssigen, bitteren Kakaomasse werden je nach dem gewünschten Geschmack verschiedene Zutaten (Milch, Zucker etc.) beigefügt...
Und das Ganze wird geknetet.
 

Die drei Farben der Schokolade: Dunkle Schokolade enthält mindestens 43 % Kakaomasse, welcher Zucker und Kakaobutter zugefügt werden.
 

Milchschokolade enthält 35 % Kakaomasse, die mit Milchpulver und Zucker vermischt wird.

Weisse Schokolade enthält keine Kakaomasse, sondern lediglich Kakaobutter (das Fett, das beim Pressen des Kakaos nach Zerkleinern der Bohnen gewonnen wird), die mit Milch und Zucker vermischt wird.

© 2017 Blondel-Confiseur Sàrl - CH-1003 Lausanne, alle Rechte vorbehalten | Entwickelt von SOS-WEB.CH SOSWEB.CH | Design von JP Dattner